The Distribution given by REITs, or Dividend, is taxable in certain stock exchange markets. For example, all dividends of REITs in Malaysia must be taxed. Details as follow:

  • Tax Resident Companies (no withholding tax)
  • Resident and Non-Resident Individuals (withholding tax rate at 10%)
  • Resident Institutional Investors (withholding tax rate at 10%)
  • Non-Resident Institutional Investors (withholding tax rate at 10%)
  • Non-Resident Companies (withholding tax rate at 24%)
  • Nominees (withholding tax rates applicable to respective beneficial owners of the units)

In Malaysia if you are an individual investor, withholding tax 10%, for example, Alaqar (5116.KLSE) declared a dividend of 2.06 sen per unit (of which 0.79 sen per unit is taxable and 1.27 sen per unit is non-taxable) in 2Q2020 in the hands of unitholders)

0.79cent (RM) of 2.06cent must be paid with 10% withholding tax, so only 1.981cent (RM) per unit was finally received.

It must be noted that Hong Kong and Singapore REITs do not have any withholding tax.

To compare all the REITs, please log in to REIT screener CLICK HERE

If you want to participate in discussions on REIT, please join our Facebook group CLICK HERE

The above article is purely information sharing, not investment or trading advice. For investment advice, please consult professional investment institutions.  This site is carried out in a personal hobby, non-profit manner, without any interests, not related to any kind of business or investment courses, no sales of investment books, not managing any public/private funds, no sales/promotion of any investment products